My first dinner guest!

My wonderful Kelly made her way up to visit me last night after work. She was my first non-family guest in my new place… and my first dinner guest! I hurried home after picking up Taylor to start making dinner.

I made one of my creations… not really sure what to call it. It consisted of chicken chunks in a doctored spaghetti sauce with green beans and garlic bread that Kelly picked up. We also had the Folie a Deux Menage a Trois white table wine. I tried the Menage a Trois red at Sara M’s bachelorette party and really enjoyed it, so I thought we’d give the white a try to go with the chicken. Everything turned out really well! The food was great, we both enjoyed the wine, and the company was truly wonderful!

If you’re interested, here’s the “recipe” for the chicken dish… keep in mind that I don’t measure (unless I’m following a recipe or baking) and it is all to taste!

Ingredients:
2 T olive oil
1 medium sweet onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
salt and pepper to taste
1 t Italian seasoning
2-4 skinless chicken breasts, cubed
1/4 cup store-bought spaghetti sauce
1-2 bell peppers, in chunks
Optional chicken broth and additional spaghetti sauce

1. Heat olive oil in saute pan or deep frying pan/skillet. Add onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. Saute until onions are slightly translucent.
2. Stir in the spaghetti sauce and let it simmer for a minute or two over medium heat until the onions appear colored from the sauce. If needed, add in some chicken broth to keep the mixture saucy.
3. Add the chunks of chicken. Stir mixture every few minutes to make sure chicken is cooking evenly.
4. Once chicken is cooked completely, or is closed to being cooked completely, add in the bell peppers and keep on heat until bell peppers are heated through.
5. The chicken and bell peppers should be in a thin sauce of chicken juices, spaghetti sauce, and possibly chicken broth. I add in some more spaghetti sauce to give the sauce a bit more substance and color, but it isn’t necessarily needed.

Last night I made the chicken dish with 4 chicken breasts, which is about 8 servings, much more than enough for Kelly and I plus a few lunches and dinners for me! I like to have it on top of some green beans (the fresh or frozen ones, not canned) that I defrosted with some chicken broth… I kind of think of it as an alternative to the standard spaghetti dish. The garlic bread was just the perfect side– to mop up the extra juices/sauce! It’s a really simple meal, but sooo good! The wine topped it off perfectly!

Let me introduce…
My wonderful Kelly… Kelly is one of my favoritest people. We have been friends since our days as RAs (Resident Advisors) in Fairhaven at WWU three years ago. Our stacks (buildings that we were RAs in in the community) were right next to each other, so we would often walk to and from meetings, activities, etc together. She is one of the easiest people for me to talk to, and it is hard to stop! Other RAs and our residents would always give us a bad time because they would find us standing between our two stacks, talking… and talking… and usually laughing… no matter what the weather. She is one of the nicest people I know and I love her dearly.

Who can be a jerk to me? It’s like kicking a puppy!” — Kelly

Me and Kelly with our stack “flags” for the Fairhaven Spring Olympics Opening Ceremony, 2006.

I met a lot of great people that year, including many of the people that are my “favorites” to this day… Three of my favoritest people were on staff with me in Fairhaven, one was my resident in Fairhaven (JP the photographer, who I have mentioned before), and another was an RA in another community that year and a best friend of Kelly’s from high school.

2 responses to “My first dinner guest!

  1. You should post picture of your place. I have not seen it! I assume its near kingston

Comments are closed.