"Sunny day, sweepin’ the clouds away…"

People who knew me during high school, and even into my college years (I say that like it was a really long time ago), knew me as the “picture-taker.” I was the one who took most of the pictures of our friends, and then put them into many (many) scrapbooks. I have an entire tub of scrapbooks just from high school… three of the books are on senior year alone. This was all before I even had a digital camera and was limited by the number of rolls of film I had (or could afford to develop)!

The point being… I’ve always taken pictures. It’s nothing new, and probably no real surprise to anyone that I am just as into photography as I was in school, if not more. The focus of my picture-taking has shifted a bit… I don’t take as many random pictures while hanging out with my friends as I used to. It is hard to experience things and be involved in what is going on when you always have a camera to your eye. I turned into more of an observer of my own life rather than an active participant. I still like to document my life and memories and I love having pictures of my friends around me. Too many of those pictures don’t have me in them, though, because I am more often than not the one taking the picture. I’ve been better about being in the moment and not behind the camera the past couple of years, and I actually have some pictures of me with my friends to show for it!

Lately I am leaning more towards taking pictures I would like to see printed and hanging on my wall. I also jump at the opportunity to be the secondary photographer at weddings with JP, taking family portraits, other portraits, and anything else that someone might ask of me. I won’t turn down an opportunity for a chance to learn and get more experience in what I love to do. Maybe someday I will be the primary photographer at a wedding, have people seek me out to take pictures, have an awesome website to display my work… but for now I am more than content to enjoy the pictures I take, and hope that other people enjoy them, too! (Especially if the pictures are for or of them!!)

In fact, one of my wonderful long-lost friends is coming up to WA soon and I am going to take pictures of her little baby girl! For the sake of privacy, I want to come up with a code name for the little girl for when I post pictures on here and (hopefully!) eventually on my website. My friend’s initials are “ABC”… so I was thinking of Sesame Street… and then thought to look up Sesame Street characters’ names. (Random, I know.)

I found “Abby Cadabby,” who is apparently a rather new addition to Sesame Street. She is the three-year-old daughter of Cinderella’s fairy godmother. I think it fits. :) So look forward to seeing pictures of baby Abby Cadabby in late November/early December! (I know it’s a ways off, but all good things come in time…)


Abby Cadabby, the Sesame Street puppet character… not the baby.

You know you know it…
Sunny day
Sweepin’ the clouds away
On my way to where the air is sweet

Can you tell me how to get
How to get to Sesame Street

Come and play
Everything’s A-okay
Friendly neighbors there
That’s where we meet

Can you tell me how to get
How to get to Sesame Street

It’s a magic carpet ride
Every door will open wide
To happy people like you
Happy people like
What a beautiful

Sunny day
Sweepin’ the clouds away
On my way to where the air is sweet

Can you tell me how to get
How to get to Sesame Street…

How to get to Sesame Street
The Sesame Street Theme

