one of "those" moods

I’m in one of “those” moods again… ok, so there are a lot of moods that may qualify as being one of “those” moods, but in this case I’m talking about the really-wanting-to-cook/bake mood, but combined with a want-to-try-something-new mood and a touch of I-need-to-start-eating-right mindset. All in all not a bad thing.

The I-need-to-start-eating-right thing has been on me for… well, probably since I was 17 or 18 and learned that I had Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). There are many, many issues and “symptoms” of PCOS, some of which I already have and others that I may or may not get in the future. One of the “symptoms” of PCOS is insulin resistance, which can lead to weight gain and difficulty losing weight as a result of the pancreas excreting too much insulin after eating food, especially carbs.

While low-carb/no-carb diets aren’t for everyone, these and low glycemic index eating plans are known to be better for women with PCOS. Over the years I have been trying to do more research on PCOS, what exactly a “low GI” diet is, the different kinds of “low-carb” diets, etc to try to find something that would help me to manage my PCOS and that would work with my lifestyle.

I haven’t figured out exactly how I am going to do this… I have to admit that I am about to reheat some leftover ravioli from last night’s dinner for lunch. But they’re cheese… cheese = protein, and I’ve read in some places that whenever you have carbs, you should have protein at the same time. (Now I’m just trying to justify my lunch…)

So in my quest to change my eating habits/lifestyle, I am in search of new recipes to try! I found Kalyn’s Kitchen blog to be super useful… she has a bunch of recipes that work with the first phase of the South Beach diet and “South Beach Diet Phase One Monthly Recipe Round-Ups” where she links to all of her SB recipes from the month as well as recipes from other blogs that would work with the first phase. The South Beach Pizza looks intriguing… and yummy!

I think I might spend the weekend trying out a few new recipes… might be good to freeze some meals for lunches, too! I think that planning ahead will help me give my eating habits a facelift. (Carb-lift, maybe?) I also want to make my Grandma B’s Chocolate Sheetcake… my cousin’s birthday is coming up and I want to send him a care package. (I’ve been meaning to since he moved down to CA in December… oops.) That way I can ease my baking-craving but ship most of it away so I won’t be tempted to eat as much of it! Maybe I’ll send some to my dad (in CA for work), too, and another cousin (in CA for school).

–Insert smooth segue–

Tuesday and Wednesday I went out into “the field” with JA to do some spawner surveys! The idea is to count the salmon that are coming back into the creeks to spawn. If there are carcasses, we are supposed to take scale or tissue samples for genetic testing, and heads if there are tags in them. We didn’t see any spawning salmon in any of the streams… but I did find half of the lower jaw of a salmon! (I know, super exciting.) It was a good sign that at least some had been there, even if we didn’t see any. We saw a bunch of little juvenile salmon/trout (it’s hard to tell), a lot of mushrooms (so many different kinds!), deer… and a couple of bear prints! We thought that the prints were cougar while we were out there, so we were slightly concerned and decidely to leave after we saw the second print. (After talking to our Wildlife Biologist, I decided that the prints were probably bear, not cougar.) It was a lot of fun, but I did end up with some bruises… not quite sure how I got them. My arms are also super scratched up from walking through salmonberry bushes.

I am always eager to get out into the field and escape the office… but now that the rains have started I am not sure if I will be as eager as I was before…

3 responses to “one of "those" moods

  1. I've been in one of "those" moods lately as well. I think it's the season. I made a huge batch of Mac & Cheese the other day…. yum. And cookies… yum, but neither look very good on the waistline… oh well.

    We were sailing recently through the Ballard Locks and had the privilege of watching heaps of giant Chinook jump everywhere around us. It was so awesome seeing those big guys out of the water!

    Hope all is well. Let's get together soon! Ooooo…. I was going to ask you how you'd feel about doing some family shots at the Space Needle when the leaves start changing colors. I'd love to have some pictures of Chris, Sydney and I and I thought of you :)

  2. Would Saturday the 18th work for you? We have Syd that weekend and I think the leaves would be just perfect. All we can hope for is a tiny bit of sun :) If not, oh well… we can always take rainy day pictures.

    Have fun on Friday! Will you be attending Liz’s B-day shindig at the Garage?

    Can’t wait to see you!! If you’d like to give me a call Friday, feel free. 206.999.2837.

  3. i wanted to let you know…. i came across another photography site that makes very professional books. it’s called blurb. blurb books. they’ve been recommended to me by a few photographer friends because i do annual yearbooks for us and had been using snapfish. from what i’ve heard, blurb books come out great!

    thought you might be interested :)

    see you tonight!

Comments are closed.