Stuffed Portabellas… or is it Portobellos??

Last night I made some stuffed portabella mushrooms for dinner, and they turned out so so yummy!!

I didn’t really follow the recipe linked above… but that’s usually how I cook. I get an idea from somewhere and then do what I want/adapt it to what I can do.

Here’s what I did with the recipe:

1. First I sauteed some garlic and half of a large onion, then added in the turkey Italian sausage. (The grocery store I went to only had the “sweet” turkey sausage.) I cooked the sausage until it was done, then sopped out the extra fats/juices.
2. I removed the gills from the portabellas and baked them for about 5 minutes at 350 degrees. (I don’t have a grill or BBQ.)
3. I added some dried basil and parsley to the sausage/garlic/onion mixture and then added the fresh chopped spinach. (I chopped mine more finely than the pictures provided with the recipe above.)
4. Once the spinach was wilted, I added a handful or so of shredded Mexican blend cheeses (from Costco!) and then divided the mixture into the waiting mushrooms.
5. I topped the stuffed mushrooms with some more cheese and then broiled them until the cheese melted.

I didn’t add the tomato sauce that the recipe calls for… but only because I forgot. It was one of those things that I thought I had all of the ingredients and then threw them together in a way that made sense to me… not realizing that I missed something. After making it my way, though, I really don’t think the tomato sauce is needed, but might be another nice variation. I think the original recipe by Bobby Flay calls for a tomato on top of the filling, too…

One of the great things about this recipe is that it is super easy to put one of the mushrooms into a Gladware-esque container for my lunch for the next couple of days!

But seriously now… how do you spell portabella? I’ve seen it “portabella,” “portobello,” and “portabello“…

