Crafty-people-pleaser with a touch of OCD

I like to learn about almost anything and everything, including myself… what makes me who I am, why I am the way I am, what I think and believe, etc. It seems somewhat strange, but I think that it is really easy to go through life without really knowing yourself… the real YOU, what’s deep inside… who you are when you strip away the influence of the media, your friends who expect you to be one way, your family who expects you to be another way, the desire to be accepted by your peers…

I am speaking in generalities when I really mean to speak about myself, but I do so because I think… and even hope maybe… that it may apply to other people as well.

So I wonder who I am without the influence of outside forces. Granted, much of who I am has developed because of outside forces, but that’s not where I am going with this.

I want to know who I am, just as I am.

I think that learning about who I am helps me to figure out who I want to be and what I can do to get there. It helps me understand why I do some things and why I react to some things the way that I do so that I can work on changing/growing where I think I need to. In a sense it is like being a psychiatrist to myself… but a lot cheaper!

I don’t necessarily believe in zodiak signs and horoscopes, but I find them interesting to read. I’m never going to plan my life or change anything because of what they might say. I mean, really… are ALL Libras going to be lucky in love in November, or have a 3-star day on Friday? I suppose if someone really wanted to believe in horoscopes they could probably interpret them to fit their experiences, convincing themselves that their horoscope was dead-on for a given day/week/month. “Lucky in love” doesn’t specify what KIND of love after all… I love chocolate. I just bought myself some yummy dark chocolate infused with espresso. I don’t know if it’s “lucky”… maybe it would be better if someone else bought it FOR me. Now THAT would be “lucky in love”! Again, I digress…

I like to read more and the personality-type things associated with horoscopes more than the daily horoscopes. Again, I don’t necessarily believe everything in them, but it is interesting because sometimes they describe how I see myself more than I am able to. I take bits and pieces of what I find that seem to fit who I think I am… kind of mush them together… and have another piece to work with to aid me in my never-ending quest to figure out who I am.

Libras
As scales of old were really “balances,” so to do you seek balance in all that Libra does. You respond to situations with grace as Libra attempts to put others at ease. Artistically, Libra tries to balance form, content, colors and elements, and for this reason can be drawn toward creative endeavors.

Yup, I’m a crafty-people-pleaser with a touch of OCD.

The greatest balancing act is between self and others, and it is here that many Libras focus their energy. Here, in the realm of interpersonal relationships, you are a champion. Libra know how to be the charming host or hostess. Libra can sense what others want before they ask for it. And you can make the needs of others a higher priority than your own. In fact, Libra is the shuttle diplomats of the zodiac, going back and forth between the extremes until a solution is negotiated.

Hm… again, the people-pleasing. I wouldn’t call myself “charming” though. I also love to have people over and plan events… that fits with the “hostess” theme. And I admit to putting others before myself, which I don’t think is a bad thing, but can be problematic for my own well-being. So again, I can see truth in this…

The Libra motto might be “To every action there is an opposite and equal reaction.” It is your innate sense of cause and effect that makes you so effective as a strategist. Whether it’s playing chess, relationship counseling or civic planning, you know how to be effective while staying in the middle of the road. Your easygoing attitude can serve you and others well, but don’t forget that your needs cannot go totally unfulfilled or you won’t have anything to give to others.

I remember that I once won a chess game against my friend Brittany, the daughter of my baby-sitter. I was proud. I’m pretty sure I lost after that, though… I don’t know if “strategy” is a strength of mine, but I know that I can’t help but see both sides of an issue or an argument and weigh the pros and cons, etc. In that I can really see the “scales” apply to me. I can understand where two opposing forces are coming from, why they might think the way that they do… that doesn’t mean I agree with both sides, but I understand. (I am also a very sympathetic as well as empathetic person… which is both good and bad.) So yet again, I can see how this applies to who I am.

Overall, I am trying to figure out who I am/what I think/what I believe, apart from what I have picked up from media/friends/family.

This is especially important with the upcoming Presedential Election… I want to vote based on what I think/know/believe/feel, not because of my friends/family.

“This is your life and today is all you’ve got now, and today is all you’ll ever have. Don’t close your eyes, don’t close your eyes. This is your life. Are you who you want to be?” -Switchfoot, This Is Your Life

