weekend in review

I had an awesome weekend.

Friday I made two lasagnas… one with the standard lasagna pasta noodles, and the other with zucchini in place of pasta, plus I added mushrooms and red bell peppers to the meat sauce for the zucchini one. It was my very first time making lasagna of any sort, so I was pleasantly surprised at how yummy they turned out! It took me awhile to make them and I made a disaster out of my kitchen in the process… but it was well worth it.

Saturday afternoon I went to Holli’s daughter’s 2nd birthday party. It was fun watching all the kids play and run around. Kids just make me smile. I also got to chat with Jessica a bit, which is always awesome.

After the party, I went to Linens N Things… they are going out of business, so everything was 10-30% off. The sales will probably get even better in a few weeks, but by then the quality of the stuff that is left will not be as high. Needless to say, I spent more money than I wanted to and didn’t even get the main thing I went in for. However, the most of things I DID get (placemats, napkins, a new table cloth, a couple of jar things for my bathroom) were things that I’ve been thinking about for quite some time. I always enjoy roaming around Linens N Things, so I am a bit sad they’re going out of business… but I’m going to take advantage of it. I have a feeling a lot of people are going to be getting random kitchen utensils and towels for Christmas this year…

I finally made it back to my house and started the cleaning process to make it “company ready.” I still had boxes of random stuff that didn’t have a place yet in the middle of the living room and mountains of my crafting supplies on the kitchen table. It felt so good to have everything put back away/hidden in my closet.

That evening Beth Q + Baby Gabe and Sara + Kyle came over for dinner. Gabe has a smile that could melt the heart of the abominable snowman. It was so nice to hang out with them and chat! I saw the three adults a few weeks ago, but we weren’t able to really talk much. I couldn’t have asked for the evening to go any better than it did. I had thought about trying to get a few other friends to come over and join us… but then I realized I only had 4 forks. Ach.

Sunday morning I got up bright and early and headed over to Seattle to spend some time with Laura, Chris, and Sydney. It was a PERFECT fall day… clear blue skies, a crisp chill in the air, leaves wearing the latest fall colors… I loved it. I had so much fun walking around with them and hanging out around the Space Needle… and taking pictures, of course. :) (Stay tuned for pictures to be posted.) For fear of being too gushy about how wonderful a time it was and how great the three of them are… I will just let the pictures speak for me once I get them up in the next couple of days.

When I got back on this side of the water, I went and bought some more silverware. I can now have 12 people over for dinner… 20 if they don’t mind sharing butter knives and using lunch/desert plates. Oh, happy day!

One response to “weekend in review

  1. Good times for your increased silverware quantities!!!

    I am going to have to make dinner and bring it over one night soon. I keep forgetting you live in the same town! :-)

Comments are closed.