really, I am!

I am an intelligent, responsible woman with a good head on her shoulders. I am mature, I can take care of myself, get things accomplished, and I am dependable. Really, I am…

But sometimes… well, sometimes I wonder how the people that love me let me out of the house by myself. And at night. And in a “big” city.

Just a couple of examples to illustrate what I mean…

Last week I went to Seattle for a conference. I hate driving in Seattle, so I decided to walk on the ferry and catch a cab to my hotel so I didn’t have to walk in the dark. (Smart, right? I thought so…)

I got off the ferry and made my way down to where all the taxi drivers wait to pounce on passers-by. The first cab I saw was one of the Lincoln towncar-types, and the driver was all spiffed up in a suit. He asked me if I needed a taxi, I said “yes, I do!” and he directed me to his car.

The next thing I knew, I was surrounded by another three taxi drivers all exclaiming that the first was an illegal driver, that he would charge me more, and that I shouldn’t go with him. I had never heard of illegal taxi drivers (who would even think to do that?!) so in the back of my mind I just figured they were trying to get me to go with one of them and not the first towncar dude.

Then the cops came. Great.

Turns out he WAS an illegal taxi driver! Who knew?

After the cops questioned me, I got into a legal cab and my driver explained to me that there are guys that will rent a car for the night and tell people that they’re a taxi. They’re not even allowed to say “taxi.” They’re obviously not insured, and they don’t have to have clean records like the real taxi drivers… so they could have bad driving records or even criminal records. Kind of scary if you think about it.

And now the silly and less serious example…

On my way home from Seattle, I had my friend drop me off at the ferry (no taxis!) planning on taking the Bremerton ferry, and my mom was going to pick me up on the other side. I got into the terminal, saw that they were boarding one of the boats, bought my ticket and rushed to board with the other passengers.

It wasn’t until I was seated and talking to my mom to tell her when I would get into Bremerton that I realized that I was on the ferry to Bainbridge Island.

Lately when I go to Seattle I leave my car on Bainbridge Island and walk on the ferry, so I am just used to boarding on that side of the ferry terminal in Seattle. I was supposed to catch the 905pm Bremerton, and overheard the “now boarding 900pm Bainbridge” when I ran into the terminal… and Bremerton and Bainbridge both start with “B”! (Now I’m just making excuses.)

Thankfully my mom was still willing to pick me up on Bainbridge Island!

Everyone’s allowed to have their moments, right?

One response to “really, I am!

  1. I’m sorry, but I just had to chuckle at this one :)

    Will I see you Saturday at Sara’s??

Comments are closed.