oh my

I’ve been out in the field a few more times these past couple of weeks doing some more low-flow stream measurements. I took pictures… but for some reason haven’t had time to do anything with them.

It could be because my mind is trying to grasp the concept that I’m actually buying a house, leaving little room to think about much else.

That’s right. I’m buying a house.

I know, I can hardly believe it myself. I finally found one! In an area I wanted but didn’t think I would get, with land that I dreamed about but didn’t think I could afford, with bits of charm I didn’t think I would be able to find without sacrificing other things… so basically it is {almost} everything I had hoped for when I first started the house-hunting process but then later believed I wasn’t being realistic for my budget, so I would have to make a lot of compromises.

It’s not a done deal yet… there’s still a lot of papers to sign and hoops to jump through before I can call this house my home, with keys in one hand and waving good-bye to my rental with the other.

There are still a few things that could cause me to not be able to buy this house so I am trying to rein in my enthusiasm and not get too excited. Yet.

If all goes smoothly I could be a homeowner by the end of August.

And then I will post pictures and give you a virtual tour… and there will probably be many posts of projects as I try to make the house mine, on a limited budget.

Oh dear.

The next hurdle is coming up on Monday: the house inspection.

Some house details: 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom. The master is HUGE {considering the small size of the house} and has a nice chair rail with different paint on the top wall than on the bottom. The second is perfect for a craft/office/guest room. The bathroom is cute and cottage-y. The living room is small with bright yellow paint {on the list of Things to Change} and has a new propane stove. There’s an eat-in kitchen with brand new cabinets and countertops, a flat-top stove, and a small dishwasher {YAY!}. The laundry room is off of the kitchen. I’ll have to bring my stacked W/D from my rental. There’s a deck off of the kitchen.

It’s on .52 acres, which is mostly grass. {I’ll need a lawn mower.} Septic, well. There are 3 awesome blueberry bushes. We met one of the neighbors when we took The Dad to check the house out {it’s the only one he really approved of} and he was super nice. He clarified a few things for us and told me a bit more about the “feel” of the neighborhood, such as how they all look out for each other. Very cool.

So… I’m excited, but holding back.

And I have to start thinking about packing up my rental! Yikes. So far I’ve packed up two boxes: one of some table-top frames + pictures {a small box}, and one of the coats in my entry closet.

I have a long way to go… I need to find some boxes!

5 responses to “oh my

  1. I AM SOOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU! You may be able to reign in your excitement – but I cannot! :-)

  2. Sarah!! I am so excited for you! I can’t wait to hear more as everything comes together. Sending you our love!

  3. congrats!!!

    i have boxes you could use… i’m keeping them for our next move, but would totally be willing to give/lend them out to you since they’re super sturdy.

Comments are closed.