blueberry dreams

Have I mentioned that I have blueberry bushes?

I’m sure I have. Probably five times already, if not more. I’m slightly excited about them.

Blueberries-4

I think my family has a soft spot for blueberries. You see, years ago my grandfather rescued a bunch of blueberry bushes from a blueberry farm and put them down by the creek on his property. They were amazing. You could stand in one spot and fill buckets of blueberries.

Or, in the case of us grandkids, fill our stomachs with blueberries.

Blueberries-11That’s me picking berries… they’re actually huckleberries in this photo because I don’t have any blueberry photos scanned in yet. That’s a whole other project for another day.

The family sold the property when our grandparents passed away, and with it went the blueberries.

Ever since then we’ve had dreams of blueberry bushes as great as Granddad B’s. Sometimes I wonder if they were actually as wonderful as they seem to have been in my memories… or if we have applied the growing fish phenomenon to the blueberry bushes. {You know how fish in fish stories tend to get bigger and bigger as the years go by?}

I like to think that they really were just that great.

I don’t have as many blueberry bushes as Granddad B had… only three compared to his ten or so.

But we have blueberries in the family again!

Blueberries-5

Blueberries-6

After work the other day I was determined to salvage all of the remaining berries. I couldn’t bear the thought of letting any of them going to waste! {It was also a great way to avoid the boxes that still need to be unpacked.}

Blueberries-7

I ended up with a good 12+ cups of blueberries… and then I had to decide what to do with them! I already made blueberry pancakes {my first cooked dinner in the house} so I decided to make banana oatmeal muffins with blueberries, with a few adaptations.

Here’s the original Banana Oatmeal Muffin recipe, from “Muffins, Nut Breads and More” by Barbara Kyte and Katherine Greenberg:

1 1/2 C flour

1 C quick cooking oats

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 C milk

2/3 C mashed banana

1/2 C sugar

1 egg

1/3 C vegetable oil

Combine flour, oats, baking soda and powder, and salt. Combine everything else, then add to dry ingredients. Fill paper-lined muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes.

I made a double batch and didn’t have enough bananas, so I blended the banana {one medium} with enough blueberries to make 1 C of mush. I also used soy milk instead of dairy milk, and then added a bunch of whole blueberries {around 2 C for the double batch}. After baking one dozen, I decided to add cinnamon to the rest. YUM!

Blueberries-8

Blueberries-9

The batter wasn’t too pretty, but the muffins were super tasty! I had them for dinner. And then breakfast. And lunch. {Have I mentioned that I haven’t gone grocery shopping yet?}

Blueberries-10

Blueberries-1

Blueberries-2

I’m already looking forward to next summer’s blueberry harvest… I’ll have to try a few new recipes using blueberries!

Blueberries-3Aren’t they pretty?

3 responses to “blueberry dreams

    • I couldn’t imagine being allergic to blueberries! That’s almost as bad as being allergic to nuts! (I love my peanut butter.)

  1. Pingback: february goals shmoals « Miss Sarah·

Comments are closed.