Dogs, Books and Beer

One of these days I really need to go to Portland just to go to Portland… not for a dog show.

Don’t get me wrong, the show went well and was fun! Sunny got Winner’s Dog and Best of Winners on Thursday for his first Major. Taylor got fourth in class both Saturday and Sunday (out of five dogs)… he wouldn’t let the judge go over him on Saturday but he was much better on Sunday. We had a great time chatting with some of the Toller people, hanging out with the Dobie people, and chatting with spectators about different breeds.

It’s just that Portland has so much more to offer that we don’t have time {or energy} to take advantage of while we’re there for a show.

We did get some time Saturday afternoon to visit Powell’s City of Books in downtown Portland.

I’ve heard of Powell’s for years from various friends… a 4-story bookstore that takes up an entire city block. It sounded too good to be true. My mom and our friend are also book lovers so it didn’t take much to convince them that we needed to check it out.

Powell’s didn’t disappoint.

Not only is it HUGE, but they also buy and sell used books– right next to the new books! I found a couple of used Mercedes Lackey books that I haven’t read yet, a trilogy by another author for $2.95 a piece, and a book on “living naturally” that has recipes for natural cleaning solutions, herbal remedies and other things like that… all for less than $25. Love it.

I could have easily spent all day exploring the store but we only had an hour and a half– not nearly enough time.

I guess I’ll have to go back…

I also have to quickly mention BJ’s Brewery. We went there for dinner after Powell’s. It was convenient because it was super close to our hotel and they had great food and beer. I’m no beer connoisseur… I know less about beer than I do about… well, almost anything. That disclaimer being said: I had their Porter and it was great. I could actually taste the flavors they described before I read the description. {I can never taste the flavors that wine labels describe so I thought it was pretty cool.} Chocolate, caramel, and molasses. Sooo yummy and it went perfectly with the BBQ Beef sandwich.

