RIP PowerShot

It seems that whenever we plan to go in the field it inevitably rains.

Of course, rain is not a strong enough deterrent to keep us from going out.

A day away from the office in the rain isn’t as lovely as a day away in the sun, but it’s still a day away nonetheless.

So out we went.

And wet we got.

Thankfully our GPS is waterproof. (It would have been quite silly to get one that wasn’t waterproof considering where we live and work. We’d never be able to use it otherwise!)

Unfortunately my little Canon PowerShot isn’t. I should have taken my waterproof Olympus out instead… but hindsight is 20/20 and my foresight was non-existent.

As a result my Canon PowerShot is nearly dead. This makes me quite sad. Not as sad as if my Canon DSLR were nearly dead… but still sad. I was able to get the photos from our field day off the camera and it still takes photos… but the screen is non-functioning. No bueno.

The PowerShot was with me as I survived my internship in the North Cascades and took some beautiful photos while we were out there.

Rainbow Falls, Stehekin

Sunset over Ross Lake

Lake Chelan

And it’s taken a lot of photos at times when I haven’t wanted to bring out the hefty DSLR.

I can’t quite bring myself to get rid of my PowerShot completely… yet. Because then I have awful thoughts that someday my friends and family are going to submit me to that Hoarders show because I can never get rid of dead cameras.

It’s a process.

I’m still in denial. I still turn on the screen just hoping that this time it will work.

I wonder if it will help if I start looking at replacement PowerShots… after all, my little SD500 is over 4 years old as it is.

It might be silly to rebound after a 4-year relationship… but hey, everyone has different coping strategies.

2 responses to “RIP PowerShot

  1. Not to ruin your coping strategy, but I actually did have a totally dead laptop suddenly work one day when I turned it on after 4 years of thinking it was dead. Of course, it’s not like I can trust it, but that does make it even harder for me to throw away electronics now.

    • You still have it after 4 years of not working?? I’m glad I’m not the only one! I still have my laptop that died at the beginning of my sophomore year of college… so that was (oh my) about 5.5 years ago now. I don’t know if I’ll be able to bring myself to part with my camera especially since I can still technically take pictures with it… it’s almost like it’s a film camera!

Comments are closed.