no story

I like to write. I always have.

Sometimes, though, I just need to write without having a real purpose or goal in mind. Not to tell a story or to share anything specific. Just to write whatever I need to write; to process the often confusing thoughts and feelings tumbling around in this silly head (and heart) of mine.

I blog to share with others, and for myself. With my friends, family, and anyone else that happens to come upon this little corner of the internet that I’ve claimed.

I write on 750words purely for myself. (However, I am starting to find that it’s also a great way to “discover” topics to blog about.)

I found out about it via Lifehacker. The idea is to write at least 750 words a day. It doesn’t have to make sense or be about anything. It is completely private– it is not another blog.

The thing I really like about it is the stats it gives you. (This may be my nerdy side coming out a bit here.) It shows how long it took you to write your 750 words (which, btw, is about 3 pages), what you were feeling, concerned with, your mindset, etc.

For example, today I wrote 788 words in 34 minutes with 1 distraction. My writing was rated PG, I was feeling mostly affectionate and concerned about success. My mindset was: introvert, positive, uncertain, and feeling.

I’ve only written 3 days of the 4 days since I started. Not too bad.

You should give it a try. Let me know what you think.

4 responses to “no story

    • It’s pretty neat so far… although I’m not very good about writing every day. :)

Comments are closed.