Old School Vampires

I’ve been watching the same movies and TV on DVD way too much. When I start laughing before the characters on The Office say their lines… I know it’s time to switch things up a bit.

I had a craving to watch some old school TV shows via Netflix’s Instant Play feature. Friends isn’t available on Instant Play (I miss being able to flip through the TV channels and being able to find a Friends re-run at nearly any hour of the day) so I somewhat randomly decided to see if Buffy the Vampire Slayer is available… and behold! it is!

I didn’t really watch Buffy when it was on in the 90’s but I saw enough episodes to know the general gist of the story line and who the main characters are.

I don’t remember the show being so… cheesy. Incredibly terrible fight scenes and special effects and the acting isn’t exactly great, either. There were times I just stared at the screen in disbelief. Am I really watching the obviously-computer-generated shadow of Buffy dismember a giant praying mantis?! Yup. Just… wow.

Has TV production really come that far in the last 15 or so years… or was the show terrible even for the mid-90’s?

I’ve only watched the first few episodes of the first season so far.

And I’m going to keep watching… for a few reasons.

1. It’s still entertaining and doesn’t require me to think. (In fact I have to force myself to NOT think so I can still be “surprised” by the plot twists and the conclusion.)

2. I can watch however many episodes as I want since all seven seasons are on Instant Play, without having to wait for the next DVD in the mail.

And, most importantly, 3. I keep waiting for the scenes where Angel shows up,  out of nowhere, with a message of impending doom.

I think most of what I remember from the show comes from the later seasons so it is a bit weird waiting for a certain character to appear, but at the same time it is mildly interesting to see the foundation of the show from the beginning.

Maybe I’ll put Friends on my queue, just in case I can’t take anymore fake punches and half-hearted kicks that somehow manage to send huge vampires flying across rooms.

