Things That Make Me Smile, vol. 2

My choice for this week’s Writers’ Workshop was too easy because it’s more or less what I’ve decided to start doing with my new “Things That Make Me Smile” category. I’ve only done one of them so far… so this must be a sign that it’s time for another.

Mama's Losin' It

Write a list of 10 things that are sure to put a smile on your face when you are not happy… aka

Things That Make Me Smile, vol. 2

10. Arrested Development. I don’t even have to actually watch any of it–just thinking of my favorite scenes/episodes can put a smile on my face.

9. Raised donuts with chocolate frosting and sprinkles. Another new obsession only made worse after eating Frost’s. OMG yum.

8. Summer in the Pacific Northwest. Lately it’s more like the promise of summer since we’ve been having so much gray weather… but summer’s coming! (It has got to be!)

Tulips!Technically this was taken in Spring… but whatever. Details.

7. Music. It lifts the spirit.

6. Knowing the grass is mowed. Not the act of mowing the grass… but right after and then the next couple of days when it still doesn’t need to be mowed. It doesn’t last long–but oh, it is a wonderful feeling.

5. Seeing my lavender grow. I love lavender. (Add it to the obsessions list, please.) The lavender plant outside my front door may or may not have played a role in my decision to buy this house. I can’t wait for it to really bloom!

4. Taylor “hugs.” He likes to walk between my legs to get my attention. I think of it as a “hug” from him. (Ok, sometimes it’s annoying because I’m afraid I’ll trip when he tries it when I’m walking… but otherwise it’s cute and endearing.)

Taylor "Hug"

3. Reminiscing. Sometimes on those bad days the only thing that gets me through is remembering the better days and the people I spent them with.

Larabee Sunset with Friends

2. Louie jumped in the toilet. I heard a bunch of weird splashing. It took me a second or two to realize what was going on–and then immediately leaped out of my chair once it clicked that the cat must have been exercising his new jumping skillz without looking before leaping. By the time I stood up, Louie was already safely out of the toilet. And I couldn’t stop laughing. It still makes me smile… and yes, I had to take pics of my wet kitty. (Pics to come at a later date.)

1. Hearing from a friend at times I really need it without knowing I need it. I take it as a reminder from God that I need to be better about asking for support/help/a listening ear and not wait for it to just “call” unexpectedly… whether it is through prayer or the telephone line.

14 responses to “Things That Make Me Smile, vol. 2

  1. Visiting via Mama Kat’s. Your list/idea to write down the things that make you smile is great! I too find that reminiscing is often what gets me through the tough times. Heaven help me if I ever lose my mind!

    • Haha I figure if/when I ever lose my mind I’ll always have this lil’ blog to remind me… and the many, MANY scrapbooks from my days of free time (another thing I like to reminisce about)

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog! I love that you did a countdown. A fun way to mix it up. Also? I’m in the Pacific Northwest too…so, yes, it’s coming! Summer here is one of my favorite things too! And I’m not going to lie,I have a weakness for apple fritters…

    • YAY for fellow PNW-ers!! It’s always nice to “meet” someone who understands/appreciates the beauty that follows the grayness. (I keep peeking out my window hoping to see some blue… but no luck. Ugh.)

      Apple fritters = amazing. There’s a donut place up in Bellingham that has awesome blueberry fritters, too! And that Frost place is supposed to have great “specialty” fritters like caramel apple fritter, bananas foster fritter… oh man now I want a donut. Or two.

  3. Love your list! I love Arrested Development too, and I have a thing for the lavender growing in my garden (and the mint, and the lemon balm, and my mammoth sunflowers). Knowing the grass is mowed puts a smile on my face too – ’cause then I know our teenage son’s hearing is in perfect working order.

    Thanks for visiting my site. Peace. ;)

    • AD is amazing! And yet so many people have yet to realize it. I’m trying to spread the word as much as I can… mostly so when I make references to it people won’t think I’m quite so weird. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thanks! Hopefully I’ll get to the wet kitty pictures soon… just thinking of them make me chuckle all over again. :)

  4. Great list. I love lavender too. I wish it was cool enough in Houston to grow it. I also love how God uses our friends just when we need it. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yours is fantastic.

    • I dream of having lots of lavender some day… although my “some-day-list” seems to get much longer before it gets any shorter! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Pingback: Louie Discovers the Toilet « Miss Sarah·

  6. Pingback: Things That Make Me Smile, vol. 5 « Miss Sarah·

Comments are closed.