500 West

500West-3

I recently confided in my mom that I believed that if there was such a thing as past lives, one of mine would have been during the Great Depression.

I hate wasting money, resources, etc., whether it is my own or of someone else, so when it came to finding a hotel for my time in San Diego I went looking for a deal.

500West-6

I found the 500 West Hotel, which is an old YMCA modified into a European-styled hotel/hostel. I think that the “European” thing only refers to the shared bathrooms… but I’ve never been to a European hotel so I really can’t say.

500West-4

The building itself was awesome. Neat details on the outside, flags, and “Young Men’s Christian Association” across the entrance… however I’m also a sucker for old buildings, places with character, and cemeteries so what I say should be taken with a grain of salt. (Where did that saying come from??)

500West-2

The room itself wasn’t much. A twin bed, desk, tiny TV, and a wardrobe. The bathrooms are “shared private”– which means they’re individual bathrooms separated from the rooms. It reminded me of living in the dorms again… never being sure if a shower was free or how other people’s schedules would affect your own. (The novelty of it soon wore off.)

500West-5

One of the best things about the place (other than the price) was the location. It was an easy walk to the Convention Center (the location of the conference I attended), Seaport Village, Westfield Center, and other attractions and only a block away from the Santa Fe trolley station. It was also a short taxi ride to and from the airport and Balboa Park. Plus, it wasn’t in a scary or smelly part of town so I felt completely safe walking around by myself… although I didn’t venture out after dark.

One of my favorite things about it was the quasi-view. I had a great view of the sunset reflected in the mirrored building across the street!

500West-7

In the end, would I choose to stay there again? Probably not, unless I was on a tight budget for realz. I like having my own bathroom and shower.

(My frugality also came out in my decision to not eat out much… so I went to the grocery store and stocked up on goods for my breakfast and dinner!)

500West-1

