let’s drink some tea and go look at animals

Work and life have been busy this summer… various GIS projects, friends and family getting married, dog club events, dog shows…

Plus the never-ending compulsion that I need to be doing something at all waking moments of the day. And sleep just wastes some of those valuable moments when I could be doing something “productive.”

As you might imagine, that mindset isn’t very healthy. I know this. But knowing it does very little to make me change my ways.

I don’t have time for a real extended vacation full of relaxation.

Instead, I’ve taken any opportunities that come my way for “mini vacations”… aka time spent away from my house, usually with friends.

A couple of weeks ago I went to Laura and Chris’s home for dinner after work. Those few hours spent hanging out with them and Miles was the perfect break I needed to get me through the rest of the week.

Then last week I met up with me dear friend, Tim. We went to dinner and ended up spending 5 hours at the restaurant chatting. (We hadn’t seen each other in quite awhile… I’m not even sure when the last time I saw him was.)

And later in the week my friends Jeff and May moved back to the PNW, so I went to Seattle-ish to meet up with them and Kelly for dinner… followed by wandering around Bed Bath & Beyond while May did some shopping for their new studio apartment. I didn’t get home until rather late, but it was definitely worth it.

The little visits like these were great reminders that we don’t need to plan huge gatherings or events to get together and enjoy each other’s company. It’s ok to get a call in the morning and go to Seattle for dinner that night–even if I have to work in the morning.

In fact, I enjoyed these outings where I actually got to chat with my friends, hear about their lives, more than I did the HUGE barbecue my family recently hosted. (I enjoyed the BBQ, but in a different way.)

I think “seeing more of my friends” is going to be in the top five things that I can do to take better care of myself… I know I always feel better afterward so it makes sense to do it more often–even if it means my house doesn’t get cleaned for one more day, or my lawn is left unmowed. Doesn’t matter if it’s an elaborately planned trip somewhere, a spontaneous outing to the zoo, ordering pizza and watching The Office, going thrifting, or just drinking tea and chatting.

Anyone game?

2 responses to “let’s drink some tea and go look at animals

  1. I’m in! :-) Love you, Sarah! And super excited to live closer to you. It sounds like we’ll be in Bremerton by the end of the month!

    • Yay! We should have regular Sara(h) dates! I am really looking forward to talking about house projects with you guys! (And following your new blog ;) )

Comments are closed.