bake for warmth

It is amazing how much better I feel after an entire day at home. I didn’t even leave the house.

I know that makes me feel kind of like a hermit, but oh my I needed it!

Saturday was our dog club’s Responsible Dog Ownership Day event (more on that and photos to come at some point); Sunday I got new-to-me furniture from my cousin and then went to Mukilteo to celebrate my friends’ son’s first birthday; then Monday I stayed home, but I was still busy!

I slept in for the first time in ages. Like, hardcore sleeping in, where I actually SLEPT until 11am or whenever–not the usual wake-up-at-9am-and-feel-too-lazy-to-get-up-until-11 (or 1) thing.

I think my body was trying to tell me something. Hm.

Anywho, I spent the day puttering… partly because things needed to be done (like cleaning the kitchen) but also partly to stay warm… because my goodness I was cold! I almost considered turning the heat on!

But I’m stubborn and frugal/cheap.

So instead I drank tea, baked yummy muffins, vacuumed, and rearranged furniture.

It worked!

Plus, having a clean(er) house made me feel better mentally. It’s not anywhere close to being what I’d call “clean,” but my bed is made and I can see the TV over the minimal clutter on my coffee table.

If this rain and chilliness doesn’t let up by the time I allow myself to turn on the heat (no earlier than October!) my house is going to be SPOTLESS, and there will always be dishes to clean from baking messes.

Now that I think about it… that might not be a bad thing.

(PS. I did consider the cost of using my oven vs. turning on the heat… but I figured that since I got two things out of using the oven –heat & muffins– it had to be better than using the furnace. I don’t know if it’s true, but it’s what I’m sticking with.)

