Dare to… be THANKFUL!

Yay for the first week of Dare to DIY, hosted by the NewlyWoodwards!

This week’s theme is “Dare to… be thankful.

I have to admit that I did one project that turned out to be a semi-fail. It’s not terrible, but I wasn’t feeling it. I decided to pull out my watercolors (which I haven’t touched in YEARS) and make something using only items I found around the house…

Dare to be THANKFUL

(Plus scissors and a hot glue gun… the “rope” pieces are actually the handles from an old shopping bag!)

I painted the unfinished frame with two different browns (the lighter brown is the same brown I used to make my apron hanger thing)… then traced the back of the frame onto the paper bag and wrote out what I wanted my little thankful-sign to say (and yes, it took me more than one try to get it to look ok):

Dare to be THANKFUL

Then traced over my text with some watercolor paint:

Dare to be THANKFUL

Added some love and fall colors:

Dare to be THANKFUL

Then cut it out, put it into the frame, and hot-glued the knotted rope onto the back:

Dare to be THANKFUL

Then I put it in a place that I’ll see it and be reminded to be thankful for all that I am blessed with.

Dare to be THANKFUL

It probably won’t stay here much longer… the frame didn’t have a glass front and I don’t want my little watercolor to get ruined by being so close to the kitchen sink!

Dare to be THANKFUL

I had so much fun playing with my watercolors again! I have multiple sets that I haven’t been able to part with–and now I’m glad that I kept them! I see more watercolor projects in my near future…

So did you Dare to DIY this week?? Don’t forget to link up over at the NewlyWoodwards! I can’t wait to see all of the projects people came up with!

14 responses to “Dare to… be THANKFUL!

    • Thanks!! I definitely rediscovered my love for them doing this little project–so really, thank YOU for hosting the party! I’m looking forward to the coming weeks of DIY-ness!

    • Thanks! I’m really happy with how it turned out… and that I didn’t have to get any additional supplies for it! It really is a great reminder–and it works! Maybe I should make more “reminders” to put around my home–like “relax,” “sleep,” etc. Haha!

  1. love the sign.

    i’m not a big thanksgiving decorator, but i do love the little touches that say ‘thanksgiving’ without having a fake stuffed turkey on the table.

    thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy it! I’m the same way–I definitely prefer the more subtle decorations and lean more towards “Fall/Harvest” (minus turkeys and cornucopias) than specifically Thanksgiving or Halloween.

    • Thanks! I’m glad to BE part of the party and I’m really looking forward to the rest! I liked the quasi-rustic look of the twine-rope and knew I had to incorporate it somehow. I thought about gluing it around the edge of the frame or something, but I think the knotted loop for hanging turned out the best.

    • They are!! They are quickly becoming a new addiction of mine! Thankfully I have the supplies already!

    • Haha thanks!! My handwriting tends to change depending on my mood… thankfully it worked for this project. :) Although I tend to be more critical of my own handiwork and wish I had done this or that differently… but I’m still happy with how it turned out.

    • Thanks! I like it, too! So much so that I haven’t been able to part with the rest of the bag yet–just in case I think of another project to use it!

Comments are closed.