Dare to… eat cookies!

I not only dared to make cookies for this week’s Dare to DIY challenge hosted by the NewlyWoodwards… but I dared to make up my own recipe with some inspiration from a few different recipes.

PumpkinGoodies-3

I’m slightly obsessed with pumpkin this year. It is one of those flavors that just screams “holiday” to me and I love it. I wanted to make a crispy pumpkin cookie of some kind but gave up searching online… plus, creating new things is like an adventure. You really don’t know what you’ll end up with.

What I ended up with was more of a pumpkin scone. If you don’t expect to get a cookie texture, they’re quite yummy. Especially topped with cinnamon chocolate frosting and paired with a yummy tea. (But really, how can you go wrong with chocolate and tea?)

I tried baking the cookie-scones in different forms and for different lengths of time… some in balls (dropped and hand-formed), some flattened slightly, and other flattened as thin as I could get them.

PumpkinGoodies-1

But no matter what I did they all came out with a scone-like texture.

PumpkinGoodies-2

The ball-formed cookie-scones turned out to be my favorite… once I accepted and embraced the fact that I wasn’t making crispy cookies this time around.

I think there’s a life lesson in there somewhere… something about accepting what you have and enjoying it for what it is…

Or maybe that dipping things in chocolate makes everything better.

I’ll let you decide. :)

PumpkinGoodies-4

Pumpkin Cookie-Scones with Cinnamon Chocolate Frosting

Mix together dry ingredients:

3 C whole wheat flour
1 C all-purpose flour
1 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1/4 t each of nutmeg and ginger
1/2 t cinnamon

In separate bowl, combine:

1/2 C butter
2 eggs
1/2 t vanilla
1 1/2 C pumpkin puree
1 C each brown sugar and white sugar

Add in dry ingredients in 3-4 batches, mixing well between each addition. The dough will be sticky.

Form dough into balls and bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

For the frosting, melt 1/2 C butter and 2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate in a saucepan. Add 1/2 t vanilla, 1 t cinnamon and about 2 C powdered sugar, mix well. Add enough hot water to smooth the frosting.

Keep the frosting warm on the stove. Carefully dip the tops of the baked pumpkin cookie-scones in the frosting or drizzle the frosting over them.

Go here to check out what the other participants cooked up this week!

7 responses to “Dare to… eat cookies!

  1. Love.pumpkin. I gotta try these. You really dared to DIY this week. I’m totally impressed. I’ve never tried baking anything without a recipe. I’m a weenie. But, you are a total superhero in my book. And, these look like a real success.

    (And, I’m a tea fan, too. So that helps.)

    Thanks for joining in. Really appreciate it.

  2. Um, yummy! My hat is off to you for trying out your own version of a recipe. I have a hard enough time with Rachel Rays version of cooking without really measuring :)

Comments are closed.