Dare to… give homemade gifts!

Birds-1

You must know I like a lot of things… tea, fall, tea, boxes, neat old things, antiques, flowers, tea, my critters, crafty things, projects, TEA, photography, etc.

But you might not know that birds are also on that list.

Yup, birds.

Birds-2

I recently tried out my watercolors with my “give thanks” sign and then again with my table setting place-cards and I rediscovered how awesome they are. Throw in some neat frames I’ve had forever plus an old field guide and I found myself with another project just in time for the “dare to give homemade gifts” week of the Dare to DIY blog party hosted by the NewlyWoodwards!

Birds-5

Mister Barn Owl was my first attempt…

Birds-4

Then I tried out a small heron…

Birds-3

My third attempt was a peregrine falcon, but it didn’t go so well. I changed tactics and tried doing a pencil sketch first, then using watercolors for this little ferruginous owl. Not too shabby, even when compared to the original from the field guide.

Birds-6

After painting my birds, I cut them out and put them in the frames.

FramedBirdPaintings-7

Oh, I also painted a Mallard…

FramedBirdPaintings-4

and a Black-Bellied Tree Duck…

FramedBirdPaintings-5

(I love his knobby knees!)

FramedBirdPaintings-6

I think they turned out great! And I know just who to give them to…

FramedBirdPaintings-9

I have some other field guides for flowers, herbs, mushrooms, and fish that might be my next watercolor inspiration!

9 responses to “Dare to… give homemade gifts!

  1. These are so cute!! I was just talking to someone yesterday about how I always treasured Sarah B gifts b/c they were homemade.

  2. These are fantastic! I too am a bird lover! Such a special gift! The Barn Owl made me hoot with love! Well done, girlfriend! ;-)

Comments are closed.