my 2011 calendar

No matter how much I try to duck my head, squeeze my eyes shut, and cling to denial…

2010 is nearly over. 2011 is just around the corner.

So I figure I should try to accept it… and then embrace it by making myself a new calendar, YHL-style.

I gave you a peek at it when I put together my little pine “floral” arrangement.

FreshPine-2

I made my calendar in PowerPoint, two months to a sheet, with a quote describing each month or the corresponding season.

FreshPine-4

I considered editing this quote to read "a better WOman"

I alternated the color of the quote and the color of the name of the month between a dusty blue, green, and rose (which coordinate with my kitchen and living room colors).

I love quotes so I enjoyed finding 12 that I wanted to feature in my calendar.

You can read January’s above… and here are the other 11 in case you’re interested in doing something like this for yourself! (Or if you’re just a lover of quotes like myself. :) )

February

In the coldest February, as in every other month in every other year, the best thing to hold on to in this world is each other. ~Linda Ellerbee

March

Springtime is the land awakening. The March winds are the morning yawn. ~Lewis Grizzard

April

I think that no matter how old or infirm I may become, I will always plant a large garden in the spring.  Who can resist the feelings of hope and joy that one gets from participating in nature’s rebirth? ~Edward Giobbi

May

The year’s at the spring
And day’s at the morn;
Morning’s at seven;
The hillside’s dew-pearled;
The lark’s on the wing;
The snail’s on the thorn;
God’s in His heaven –
All’s right with the world! ~Robert Browning

June

What is one to say about June, the time of perfect young summer, the fulfillment of the promise of the earlier months, and with as yet no sign to remind one that its fresh young beauty will ever fade. ~Gertrude Jekyll

July

A life without love is like a year without summer. ~Swedish Proverb

August

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time. ~John Lubbock

September

Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all. ~Stanley Horowitz

October

October gave a party;
The leaves by hundreds came –
The Chestnuts, Oaks, and Maples,
And leaves of every name.
The Sunshine spread a carpet,
And everything was grand,
Miss Weather led the dancing,
Professor Wind the band. ~George Cooper

November

The one red leaf, the last of its clan,
That dances as often as dance it can,
Hanging so light, and hanging so high,
On the topmost twig that looks up at the sky. ~Samuel Taylor Coleridge

December

Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home. ~Edith Sitwell

2 responses to “my 2011 calendar

    • Aw thanks, Sara!! This calendar was too much fun to make… I actually made it while I was supposed to be cleaning. I should have made one for Dec 2010, too.

Comments are closed.