january goals shmoals

I’m not really big on New Year’s resolutions.

I don’t like to set myself up to fail, I don’t like disappointing others (even if in the end I’m really only disappointing myself) and I usually forget whatever I was resolving to do/accomplish in the first place.

My mom would make a point of comparing any process to segment dog training… break it down into smaller steps, then put them together to reach the end goal.

You know, first teach your dog to lay down and then you can go from there to “play dead” or “roll over.”

So instead of New Year’s resolutions… I want to give myself goals that will add up to make my life more healthy, enjoyable, and fulfilling.

I find myself packing in as much as I can into each day with little time to sit back and just be. My mind is constantly buzzing with things to do, things I should have done, people I want to connect with, and self-imposed guilt for not doing them. Then I don’t go to bed until after 11pm, my mind buzzing, and wake up still tired with little to no time to have a decent breakfast and rushing out the door.

That’s not how I want to live my life.

I can’t expect to change my routines and habits over night. I will give myself daily (for the often overwhelming list of things that need to be done) and monthly goals. I’ll share my monthly goals with you here… to help keep me accountable and to remind myself that I need to do these things–for ME.

(Plus, crossing things off of lists makes me feel like I’ve actually accomplished something. It’s proof that I’ve been doing things, justifying the use of my time. Is that weird?)

For January…

  1. Eat breakfast everyday. A good breakfast. (I already rearranged my kitchen to make my oatmeal-making-flow a bit smoother in the morning!)
  2. Exercise at least 3 times a week. It might not seem like much, but it is a vast improvement over NO times a week! (And I am looking forward to walks with Holli and Jess when the weather warms up a bit and the days are longer! But that will have to wait for another month.)
  3. Organize/clean my garage so I can park in it again. It is currently full of dog club stuff and other odds and ends. That needs to change. It would be nice to have a morning where I didn’t have to scrape ice from my windshield!!

I think that’s a good start…

What goals have you set for yourself this month/year?

8 responses to “january goals shmoals

  1. Love your goals- these remind me of what we talked about when I saw you last. P.S. I would love to meet up for walks with you gals!! Sounds fun ;-)

    • Haha YES! I kept thinking about what we talked about so I figured I should write it out! And you will definitely be welcome when we go on walks! Getting exercise, outside, and spending time with girl friends… I can’t wait!

  2. “I already rearranged my kitchen to make my oatmeal-making-flow a bit smoother in the morning!”
    Made me smile! That’s totally what I would have done had I actually wanted oatmeal in the morning. It’s just an apple on the train for me at the moment!

    Lovely blog, happy new year!
    x

    • I’m glad it made you smile!! I love me some oatmeal… I make mine with lots of cinnamon, a touch of brown sugar, and cranberries… topped with vanilla yogurt. SO yummy! Sometimes I add chopped nuts, too, but I don’t have time to do that during the week. Thanks for stopping by!!

  3. I am looking forward to walks for sure! Especially when it is not pitch dark at 5 pm! :-)

    I really want to also explore all the clear creek trails, I hear it is really pretty!

    • Oh yes!! I think it would be fun to “explore” the area on our walks… definitely Clear Creek, and the Dogfish Creek Park by my house has a nice little trail, plus NAD by my parents’ and I know there must be others! Now if only the sun would stick around to give us light and a bit of warmth…

  4. I agree that Sarah needs time for Sarah :) & you should perfect this before you even think about having kids!!! That’s not to say I have perfected the art, but I’m working on it.

Comments are closed.