water(color) kayaks

I have three IKEA frames above my TV. For the longest time I couldn’t decide which of my photos to put in them.

I put in a few Ansel Adams photos from an old calendar as place-holders… like this one:

TwoKayaksWC-3

Then I went to San Diego and took a bunch of photos at Balboa Park and replaced one of the Ansel Adams prints with my favorite shot of some trumpet flowers in the Alcazar Garden…

TwoKayaksWC-2

I don’t know if you picked up on one of my new obsessions as evidenced by my birds (which I gave to my mom for Christmas) and by my other Dare to DIY projects (a “give thanks” sign and place cards)…

Watercolors. Why buy art when you can make it yourself?

I have a lot to learn about painting with watercolors… but I’m quite pleased with how my latest project turned out!

I used one of my “happy place” photos for inspiration… kayaks in the Sea of Cortez.

Baja Kayaks -3-

And this is what I came up with:

TwoKayaksWC-4

My favorite part is the water.

TwoKayaksWC-5

TwoKayaksWC-6

And I’m mostly happy with how the “sand” turned out.

TwoKayaksWC-7

There are things that I wish I had done differently… but I’ll just take those as “lessons learned” and apply them to my next project. I might even do another version of this photo.

Now I just need to paint two more pieces to change out the trumpet flower photo and Ansel Adams print so I can have a complete set!

TwoKayaksWC-1

And maybe take a watercolor class if I can find one…

2 responses to “water(color) kayaks

    • I used to do more painting when I was younger but I am just now getting back into it… it’s addicting! But so is photography. I’ve found that both mediums complement one another and help refine my techniques in the other. Thanks for visiting!!

Comments are closed.