good as new, but a bit dirty

301Singer-1

This is what motivation looks like.

301Singer-2

Antique, rusty motivation.

301Singer-3

Motivation to learn how to sew. Really sew.

301Singer-4

It’s my great grandmother’s 301 Singer sewing machine. It’s a bit dusty… but it works. The light bulb is still good! And the bobbins are still in place! And it’s threaded!

301Singer-5

Makes me wonder what she was working on last… using dark green thread.

I found an online version of the original users’ manual. Hopefully I’ll be able to figure out how to change out the parts, thread it, and eventually use it.

301Singer-6

I have pillows and curtains to make! Maybe even clothes one day!

But until then… it’s pretty quaint sitting on a table in front of my kitchen window, waiting to be cleaned.

One response to “good as new, but a bit dirty

  1. so. stinking. cool. can’t wait to see what this puppy puts out. i absolutely love that it was threaded. i think you’ll have to do something special with that green thread.

    a little birdy told me there might be a spinning wheel from my great grandma somewhere in the family. i’m going on a mission to see if it’s out there somewhere.

Comments are closed.