sweet carnations

I don’t think carnations get enough credit.

SweetCarnations-6

They seem to be mostly used as fillers in arrangements and bouquets, back-up singers to the fancier flowers that typically get the lime light– like roses and lilies.

SweetCarnations-1

Carnations are usually less expensive than roses… but that’s no reason to think of them as a lesser flower or that they have less meaning when given to someone you care about.

SweetCarnations-3

I have them all around my house right now–they were leftovers from the baby shower we hosted (along with the teapot arrangement that is on my island).

SweetCarnations-7

I think they are lovely and sweet.

SweetCarnations-4

In the coldest February, as in every other month in every other year, the best thing to hold on to in this world is each other. ~Linda Ellerbee

Happy Valentine’s Day, my friends. Know that you are cherished.

And a very happy birthday to my dear friend, Holli.

One response to “sweet carnations

Comments are closed.