Old Mill Park

I can’t tell you how many times I have driven through Silverdale, rain coming down, and sun shining over Dyes Inlet… wishing that I had my camera so I could stop and try to capture some of the beauty of a rainy day in the Pacific Northwest.

OldMillPark-13

It happened again this past Saturday. But this time I not only had my camera but I also had Taylor with me– which meant a perfect excuse for a pit stop at the beach before making our way to the folks’!

OldMillPark-9

I decided to stop at the Old Mill Park. I had never been there before so it was about time that I crossed it off of my list of places to explore. The park features a huge piece of old saw machinery… I don’t remember what it was, but it was old and rusty–which equals awesome in my book!

OldMillPark-5

The park is surrounded by wetlands full of cattails, pussy willow trees, and croaking frogs.

OldMillPark-4

Sara and I were just talking about pussy willow trees earlier so I was excited to find these, especially with the little water drop jewels.

OldMillPark-3

There were even a few cherry trees still in bloom along the edge of the beach.

OldMillPark-8

I love pussy willow trees and cherry blossoms, but what really drew me to the park was the view of Dyes Inlet. My photos just don’t do it justice.

OldMillPark-12

OldMillPark-10

Even on a rainy and what some may call a dreary day, I can’t get over the beauty.

OldMillPark-14

