alien tulips

Aren’t tulips supposed to have one bloom per bulb/stem?

Most of mine do…

But this one:

TripleTulips-1

It’s a bit strange.

TripleTulips-3

There’s THREE blooms on a single stem!

Maybe it’s the bulb food I added before planting. Definitely isn’t my hopeful green thumb.

TripleTulips-4

I thought it was a fluke… but then I looked at some of the others and found a few double-blossom tulips.

TripleTulips-5

Is this normal?!

(I’m not complaining! I’m actually quite excited… I can’t wait to see what they look like once the blooms open!)

One response to “alien tulips

  1. When I went to the tulip festival a couple years back I remember seeing what I called “twins” and “triplets” which is exactly what I see you have here! They werent super obvious, but once you spotted it you would notice all the rest!

Comments are closed.