dig a little deeper

I have this great desire to buy lots of plants and do lots of gardening… even though I don’t have places prepared to actually plant things. Still.

Tearing up plastic on my “hill” and beating the hard-pan earth below it to make it workable just isn’t appealing to me.

Until I get enough motivation to tackle that little item on my to-do list I make do with the tiny area around my front stoop.

Garden-5

Garden-1

I picked up a few English daisies (the bright pink things) and candy tufts (the white ones) at Home Depot for $2 a piece. (Both are perennials.)

Garden-2

I love the little tubular petals of the English daisy.

Garden-3

One night I came home from a frustrating day at work, intending to do something that wasn’t weeding or gardening. Next thing I knew… my fading hyacinths were cut back, weeds were pulled, and my new little plants were packed in around my existing lavender plant, protected by my extra garden fence.

Garden-4

The best part of it all: I was relaxed. No more lingering frustration from the long day.

And I almost want to tackle my hard-pan hill so I can do some more!

Almost.

(Also… I just have to note that I had an epic weekend. Yes, epic.)

