The Hill Garden

HillGarden-1

This is what I refer to as my “hill garden.” It’s the little slope/hill/bank area that separates my upper lawn next to the dog kennel from the smaller, lower lawn.

HillGarden-2

The hill is covered by black plastic sheets AND landscape cloth. I don’t know how long it has been there, but long enough for a nice, thick layer of sod to develop over it in places.

HillGarden-4

I have some big-ish plans for this area… mostly I just want to be able to plant things without fighting plastic nastiness.

So one night after work I attacked the plastic.

HillGarden-5

And I won. Well, the battle anyway… the war isn’t quite over. It took me about an hour to remove the rocks at the base of the hill-garden, tear up about one-third of the plastic and a big sheet of landscape cloth.

HillGarden-3

There’s still a lot to be done… lots more plastic to remove (it goes all up under the pine trees to the right there–you can see some of it where it looks shiny under the needles)… and I have to figure out what-in-the-world I am going to do with these:

Bricks-1

Oh boy.

Maybe something like this?

HillGarden Concept

But, you know… straight rows of blocks and stairs that make sense. (Thanks to Sara for the idea of putting stairs there!) And eventually plants and flowers.

I might need more blocks.

2 responses to “The Hill Garden

  1. you really do have the best yard…lots of potential. it’s huge, i love all the trees. ps. i would make you a garter, any day. love you. have a great day.

  2. I like Nat’s comment ;-) and also love your big, beautiful yard! Cant wait to see it with the blocks. XO

Comments are closed.