SQUIRREL!

If you see them from a distance, standing on their hind legs, you might mistake them for prairie dogs.

Then you remember you’re in the mountains… do they have prairie dogs in the Rockies??

BanffSquirrels-4

BanffSquirrels-5

I don’t think so. But they do have ground squirrels.

BanffSquirrels-3

Lots of ground squirrels.

BanffSquirrels-2

Columbia Ground Squirrels, to be exact.

BanffSquirrels-1

We had to stop on our way to Calgary (via Chilliwack and Salmon Arm) to give the pups a break and we saw the squirrels everywhere. They are obviously used to humans (and are probably fed by many) because one came right up to me when I knelt down to take a photo. I was too surprised to get a photo of him… but I was still able to get pretty close after that. Silly things.

BanffSquirrels-6

I also saw these pretty flowers… some sort of dogwood maybe?

BanffSquirrels-7

Not sure… but I like them!

