i cook

I have issues following directions. Not when I have to–when it’s important I do just fine.

Other times I like to do it my way, especially when it comes to cooking.

I don’t cook nearly as often as I should. My many other projects and hobbies become more of a priority than feeding myself. Not quite how it should be, but it’s something I’m working on. I’ve heard it’s important to take care of yourself…

So I made myself dinner the other night. Like, with more than one thing. And, to top it off, it tasted amazing. I even (kind of) followed a recipe.

I bought some pork and then went through a few of my cookbooks looking for something I might be able to do… and I found this:

Sounds amazing. The only problem (which might be a deterrent if I weren’t me): I didn’t have most of the ingredients.

I had the pork, salt and pepper, olive oil instead of peanut or corn, my onion was bad so didn’t use it, I don’t even know what cornichons are, thank goodness I just bought tomatoes, I always have fresh garlic, no scallions or olives, I didn’t bother with the bay leaf, no orange, I had fresh rosemary instead of basil, I managed to find my Worcestershire sauce and some white wine, and dried parsley instead of fresh.

Hm. I guess I was pretty far off from the original recipe… whatev.

I dried off the pork chops, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and browned them in olive oil on the sauce pan. Once they were browned, I added everything else (chopped tomato, garlic, rosemary, Worcestershire sauce, white wine, parsley) and let it cook for a few minutes. Then I put the whole thing in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. (My pork chops were really thin.)

Out of the oven, pork chops go onto plate while the veggie stuff goes back onto the stove to reduce.

Finally, the tomatoes and sauce onto the pork…

The whole thing took maybe 40 minutes… partly because I didn’t know what I was doing or what ingredients I had. Oh, and I kept touching the saucepan after it came out of the oven. (Only one minor burn!)

To go with my delish pork I threw together a salad of mixed greens, pear chunks, blueberries, and goat cheese with honey mixed in. Oh my good.

Yum

One of these days I want to try making the pork again and following the entire recipe, but it was super good even with my adaptations! I love it when it works out so well.

2 responses to “i cook

Comments are closed.