Nelson Park

I’ve lived in Poulsbo for two years, walking distance from this little gem of a park–yet I hadn’t visited it at all until I was out collecting data for a work project.

Nelson Park

I couldn’t find much information about the park online in my brief search, but I did find out that the property was purchased from Mrs. Nelson in 1998 and was then converted into a┬ácommunity┬ápark. The original Nelson house is on the property still and has been refurbished for the live-in caretaker.

Nelson Park

I love the old Nelson Park sign… for some reason a new sign was put directly in front of this one, hence the odd angles.

Nelson Park

Nelson Park

Mr. Nelson’s barn is still (somewhat) standing on one corner of the property, partially covered by morning glory and blackberries…

Old Barn at Nelson Park, Poulsbo

Old Barn at Nelson Park, Poulsbo

Old Barn at Nelson Park, Poulsbo

Old Barn at Nelson Park, Poulsbo

The Martinson Cabin Museum is also at the park… but I didn’t get to get a close look at it this time. According to the Poulsbo Historical Society’s website, the museum is open Saturdays from 10am to 4pm. (There’s also more information and history about the cabin on their site.)

And lots of thistle.

Thistle

We’d been watching the seeds float around all day.

Thistle

Except these ones… caught in a spider web!

Spider Web Thistle

Nelson Park is a lovely little place, definitely worth re-visiting. I hope to check out the Martinson Museum one of these days, maybe take the Tay-Boy for a walk down there, and snap more photos of the old barn, house, and cabin… because I just can’t get enough of old buildings (standing or falling apart)!

