on the hunt

I have a tendency to get distracted. I attribute it to my wide range of interests… yeah, that sounds good. I just find so many things fascinating.

Mushrooms-1

Including mushrooms. I’ve never harvested mushrooms–there are so many that look alike and I am not at all familiar with them all so I’d be afraid I’d collect something that might make me sick… or worse. But I am still fascinated by them.

Mushrooms-2

Mushrooms-3

We had to do a mushroom project in high school biology class. We had to collect so many different mushrooms (I just took pictures, surprise surprise) and make spore prints of them all to help identify them. It was actually quite fun–and probably part of why I am still always looking for interesting specimens.

Mushrooms-4

Mushrooms-7

Mushrooms-8

So naturally when I spotted one mushroom when I was out at Dewatto with my mom and pups, I took a photo. Then I spotted another, and another, and another… and so on.

Mushrooms-9

Mushrooms-12

The more I looked, the more I saw. The more obvious mushrooms lead me deeper into the woods where I started finding the hidden treasures… like a teeny tiny little guy tucked into a decaying tree stump, surrounded by moss and lichen.

Mushrooms-14

Mushrooms-29

Mushrooms-27

They were all so different. All different shapes, sizes, and colors.

Mushrooms-26

Mushrooms-24

Mushrooms-20

I haven’t attempted to identify any of my “finds” yet–but I plan to. And of course, there are even more photos of mushrooms on my Flickr account if you are so inclined. :)

I can’t wait for my next little nature walk… who knows what I will find!!

One response to “on the hunt

Comments are closed.