just an iphone

frosty morning

We’ve had a few clear, crisp, and frosty mornings here in the Pacific Northwest the past couple of weeks. I paused on the way to my car one of those mornings, running a little late for work, but the frost on my cedar fence caught my eye. (Yes, I’m distracted by shiny things!)

I didn’t have my “good” camera with me–but I wanted to capture that early, light frost. We haven’t had any snow yet, so the frost was one of the first sure signs that it is indeed winter. (Other than my climbing heating costs.)

But I just had my iPhone. And I thought of the quote “the best camera is the one you have” or something along those lines. I tried to find the person that said it, but instead I found this from Arnold Newman:

A lot of photographers think that if they buy a better camera they’ll be able to take better photographs. A better camera won’t do a thing for you if you don’t have anything in your head or in your heart.

Great words to keep in mind for us all, whether we shoot with an iPhone, a ten year-old digital camera with only 3.2 megapixels (like the one sitting in my office at work), or a fancy shmancy top-of-the-line DSLR with a slew of L-class lenses.

It doesn’t stop me from dreaming of new lenses, but it does reinforce something I’ve been trying to tell myself recently: just because I don’t have my preferred camera doesn’t mean an image or a moment isn’t worth capturing or worth sharing.

7 responses to “just an iphone

  1. I couldn’t agree more Sarah…it is the artists eye that is important and the camera no matter how small or big or fancy or not, is still just a tool. Merry Christmas!!!

Comments are closed.