Christmas Goodies

The Christmas holiday was pretty low-key for us this year. It was wonderful. Great times with family and friends (although I didn’t get to see everyone I’d hoped to) and all those important things… including FOOD.

I didn’t take too many photos… most of them are food. Then I was eating or cooking, so I couldn’t take any more.

Mom and Betsy made yummy spring rolls for Christmas Eve, complete with delish peanut sauce.

XMas-1

XMas-5

SO GOOD.

Jayme and I were reminiscing about these awesome peanut butter and chocolate candy things our paternal grandfather used to make. We couldn’t find the recipe… so I got creative. They aren’t exactly the same as what granddad made, but they were close–and amazingly yummy. Dangerously so.

XMas-2

XMas-3

I’ll post the actual recipe soon (I plan to make them again for Jayme’s baby shower)… it’s essentially a PB + graham cracker crumb + butter + powdered sugar concoction, topped with a simple fudge. We want more PB + chocolate flavor next time.

XMas-4

Everyone agreed that they were worthy of making again. (And we have opinionated eaters.)

Aunt Tami made Christmas Eve Salad (pomegranate seeds, pineapple, jicama, beets… and something else). It was pretty and really tasty!

XMas-6

She also made rolls. One of her many specialties.

XMas-7

There were lots of other goodies, but I was too busy… eating. Oh, and visiting and whatnot. While eating.

Christmas morning found me making a blueberry pie, with blueberries from my yard…

XMas-8

Very yummy, but a little heavy on the lemon this year. Ah well, I guess I’ll just have to try it again next year!

4 responses to “Christmas Goodies

    • Haha I think dessert first is required in this case! It was all sooo yummy. Can’t wait for next year!

  1. Traditional food is the best. It never feels like a holiday unless you’ve got all the required treats. I’m intrigued by the pb/choco thing, I might have to try it

Comments are closed.