snowpocalypse: day ii

The second day of snow was a bit more rewarding than the first… I had around 5 inches at my house. I know that’s not a lot by most standards, but it’s respectable here. And a great excuse to take another lunch-time walk with the Tay-Boy to see how the park changed with actual snow instead of just slush!

Snow2012-26

Snow2012-31

Not surprising, but I stopped a lot to take photos. When I did, Taylor would whine and look at me like, “why are you stopping?! There might be DUCKS ahead!”

Snow2012-34

Snow2012-35

I stopped anyway. Usually had to make him SIT and wait so he wouldn’t pull me onward.

Snow2012-36

It’s a bit challenging to take photos with an eager dog at the end of the leash in your hand.

Snow2012-41

Taylor had to peek out of each of the look-outs to see if the ducks were there again…

Snow2012-45

But no luck. Just geese this time.

Snow2012-48

Snow2012-50

Snow2012-53

Snow2012-65

Then I wanted to take some photos of Tay in front of the cattails. He was being difficult, but I eventually got him to sit facing me… even if he wasn’t looking at me at first.

Snow2012-68

Snow2012-71

When I released him, he charged into the creek! He probably thought it was solid because he didn’t take long to turn around and get back out… and I laughed.

Snow2012-72

Then we found a hawk of some kind… really not sure what he is. I love birds of prey… it may have to do with reading Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar novels about the Tayledras and their bondbirds when I was young. (I still love her books.)

Snow2012-76

Before heading home, I wanted to check out the little foot bridge over Dogfish Creek.

Snow2012-79

Lyrics from Moon River were written on the side boards: “moon river, wider than a mile, I’m crossing you in style, someday.”

Snow2012-82

It was a great place to end our walk… and I think Tay was about ready for his nap!

Snow2012-83

2 responses to “snowpocalypse: day ii

    • Thanks, David! With as many photos I take of Taylor, I have to feel bad for my future nieces, nephews, and kids… :)

Comments are closed.