The Twilight of Lake Woebegotten

I had to share a book a just finished reading… The Twilight of Lake Woebegotten by Harrison Geillor.

Yes, Twilight like the Twilight series.

First off, yes, I read the Twilight series. Yes, I got sucked into the story despite how poorly written it is. But I am glad that I read the series if only to have a greater appreciation for Geillor’s take on it.

The Twilight of Lake Woebegotten is a dark, twisted parody of Twilight. Much of the basic story line is there… the biggest difference is that Bonnie Grayduck (aka Bella Swan) is the real monster with Antisocial Personality Disorder, not the vampires or were-bears. She didn’t leave California because her mom needed to travel with her stepfather, rather because people were getting suspicious of her and a few unfortunate accidents that resulted in the death of one of her classmates. In Twilight, Bella Swan is quiet and clumsy. Bonnie Grayduck comes off that way, too, but only as a way to manipulate people, including the mysterious and brooding Edwin Scullen and the hot-blooded Joachim Noir.

I loved the humor in Geillor’s work and making the connections between The Twilight of Lake Woebegotten and Stephanie Meyers’ Twilight. I am sure it would still be funny if you haven’t read Twilight, because it’s just that good.

Geillor also wrote a zombie book based in Lake Woebegotten… aptly titled The Zombies of Lake Woebegotten. I haven’t read it yet, but I am looking forward to it!

Source: nightshadebooks.com via Sarah on Pinterest

(I’ve always been a reader. I am making an effort to read more new-to-me books this year and I’ll try to share them with you, too. I’ve set a goal on Goodreads to read 25 books this year. I’ve got 2 down… 23 to go!!)

2 responses to “The Twilight of Lake Woebegotten

Comments are closed.