banana oatmeal muffins, revamped

I love muffins. I love baking them and I love eating them. I love sharing them–especially with those that have new little ones. Muffins are my favorite food-gift to give to new moms and dads since they are easy to grab and eat.

Banana oatmeal muffins

I base most of my muffins off of the original banana oatmeal recipe I posted here. Of course I rarely make it exactly the same way twice, and almost never truly following the recipe.

After my newest cousin was born late March, I mixed up a triple batch of muffins for his family and for my coworkers that just had their baby a few days before my cousin was born. These muffins were my favorite rendition to date–and I even remembered to write it down!

3 1/2 C all purpose flour

1 C whole wheat flour

3 C quick cooking oats

1/2 C flax seeds

6 tsp baking powder

3 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 1/4 C almond milk

2 C mashed banana

1 1/2 C sugar

3 eggs

2/3 C vegetable oil

1/3 C apple sauce (plus a bit if not enough bananas to make a full 2 C)

Combine flours, oats, flax seeds, baking soda and powder, and salt. Combine everything else, then add to dry ingredients. Fill paper-lined or greased muffin cups a bit more than 2/3 full. Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes.

Makes about 43 muffins, depending on how full you like your muffins! I like mine pretty full so you might get even more out of it. And remember, this is a TRIPLE batch of the original recipe! Oh, and when I was about half way through the batter, I added a cup of mini chocolate chips to the remaining batter for an extra treat. YUM.

Next time I might replace ALL my oil with apple sauce to see how they turn out, and I’ll play around the with amount of whole wheat flour. It’s part of the fun in baking! :)

9 responses to “banana oatmeal muffins, revamped

    • Absolutely!! I am hoping that they will turn out just as yummy if I use ALL applesauce next time! (And I make sure to get the no added sugar applesauce, which also helps!)

        • I didn’t know you could sub pumpkin! I might have to make another batch of muffins just to give that a try! (It doesn’t hurt that I LOVE pumpkin!)

  1. great recipe!

    as others have said you can totally sub pumpkin. i read somewhere recently that you can sub 1/2 of your sugar with mashed avocado and won’t notice the difference. haven’t tried it myself, but it could be interesting.

    i’ll bring a couple bread books over to you on the 22nd…

    p.s. these muffins are really stinking awesome for milk production. don’t know if you already knew that, but you’re rockin it lady!! if you added some ground fenugreek you could market them ;)

    • I love the idea of avocado instead of sugar! I might have to give that a try, just for fun. Haha I had no idea that they were good for milk production!! I guess they were just meant to be new-mom gifts! What makes them good for milk?? Now to look up fenugreek…

Comments are closed.