the Hill Garden: PLANTS!

The Hill Garden is still a work in progress. It has come a long way… but still has a very long way to go! I finally made some more progress on it–I PLANTED things! In the GROUND! This is huge.

The waaay before…

HillGarden-2

Then after the stairs were finished

StairsDone-8

And finally something planted! A hydrangea! (Since this photo I’ve also planted that little rhododendron seen in the black pot in about that location, and a mini hosta behind that big corner rock.)

Untitled

Untitled

The hydrangea was a volunteer started off of one of my mom’s plants. It was looking a little sad after the trip over to my place, but it perked up after I got it in the ground and gave it a healthy dose of water.

Untitled

It will be blooming in no time! I can just feel it!

Untitled

I am looking forward to it filling out a bit more to add a nice pop of green and purple when it’s in bloom. It will be a nice change!

Untitled

The other side of the stairs still need a lot of work. There is MORE plastic that needs to come up (you can see some of its shininess under the far tree), rocks to be relocated, dirt to move around, existing plants to remove, another rhododendron to be planted (both are also starts from my parents), plus some bleeding hearts and another mini hosta to plant (picked up from the plant sale at the Bloedel Reserve last month).

Untitled

Not to mention this bounty of hostas that were split from my parents’ plants!

Untitled

Not sure if it’s obvious or not–but I’ve been focusing on outdoor projects (mostly gardening) lately. I have a hard time working inside when it’s nice out! Ha, sometimes even when it’s not-so-nice! I finished mowing one area of my lawn while it was sprinkling out a couple weeks ago! I still have indoor projects to work on… but hey, the sun’s out! Gotta take advantage!

One response to “the Hill Garden: PLANTS!

Comments are closed.