Railroad Bridge Park

I had some time to spare in Sequim and was procrastinating starting my long drive home, so I decided to do a little exploring. I caught sight of a brown sign… “Railroad Bridge Park Next Right.” On a whim, I decided to try to find this little park I’d never heard of.

The signs took me down through a charming farm/residential area. I so wanted to stop and take photos of the horses and cattle in the fields of bright yellow dandelions! But I resisted… and then I made it here:

Railroad-26

The Dungeness River Audubon Center at Railroad Bridge Park. To say I was excited at my find would be a bit of an understatement. I LOVE the look of old railroad bridges… and I got to see one up close!

Railroad-27

But first… I had to stop and check out the Animal Olympics.

Railroad-7

There were ten signs along the fence, each with a different native animal and instructions on how to move like that animal… like flap like a hummingbird:

Railroad-6

Or pounce like a cougar:

Railroad-4

Or jump like a frog:

Railroad-3

Or balance like a squirrel:

Railroad-1

(I especially like the notes of caution on the bottom of each sign that warn to “watch for predators” aka people walking and biking on the trail.)

I refrained from trying to be like a cougar or squirrel… I was tempted. But I had a bridge to see!!

Railroad-8

Railroad-9

Railroad-12

Railroad-14

Railroad-16

Railroad-17

Railroad-18

Railroad-23

Railroad-28

I loved the little signs of spring I found, pretty pink flowers and the fresh green leaves of Indian Plum trees and some other bush/tree…

Railroad-25

Railroad-15

Railroad-10

I can’t wait to make it back up there to explore the park more, see where the trail leads, and spend some leisurely time by the river… and maybe even check out the actual Audubon Center there!

One response to “Railroad Bridge Park

  1. Wow what a great place to explore!!! Great photos of the really cool bridge and signs. Love the warnings at the bottom of each sign!

Comments are closed.