yes, more purple… wisteria

My mom brought me this “volunteer” wisteria that started off of one of her plants. It’s a nice sized wisteria, but I wasn’t a fan of the pot it was in–plus the roots were coming out of the bottom and it was looking all crazy!

Untitled

I considered planting it in the ground, but for various reasons decided on a nicer looking pot for now. I picked up this guy from Lowe’s for around $30. I like it because it LOOKS heavy but is actually just a resin/plastic of some sort!

Untitled

But it didn’t have a hole for drainage. I wouldn’t let that stop my grand plans, so I made one of my own… it’s not pretty, but it won’t be seen so it doesn’t matter. It’s all about the function!

Untitled

Untitled

Threw in some rocks on the bottom (to help with drainage and to decrease the amount of soil I needed to fill it up), added soil, and transferred the wisteria… with the help of some four-footed cuties, of course.

Untitled

Untitled

They especially enjoy the watering part.

Untitled

I also pruned off some random parts, some dead-ish parts, and tied it up to a stake to encourage upward growth. I still need to figure out what I’ll do for a trellis… or let it take over my fence? We’ll see. For now I’m just enjoying the lovely, fragrant blooms…

Untitled

(Just realized there’s no wide-scale view… the pot is on the corner of the fence outside my kitchen! That way I can see the prettiness.)

8 responses to “yes, more purple… wisteria

    • I love it more and more! My parents’ plant is definitely thriving–it is taking over! Hopefully mine does just as well, but maybe on a smaller scale than theirs… :)

    • Thanks, Laura! Haha you should see them in action sometime… they make me laugh! Totally worth the extra time it takes to get things done.

    • I find myself walking by the wisteria just as an excuse to stop and smell the flowers–I hope they last a bit longer!

Comments are closed.