pinterest-inspired zucchini tots

I found this intriguing recipe idea on Pinterest for “zucchini tots”. They’re supposed to be healthier versions of tater tots. I just happened to have a couple of little zucchinis sitting on my counter that I needed to do something with… so why not?

Source: curiouscountrycook.blogspot.com via Sarah on Pinterest

But it’s me. So I didn’t follow the recipe. I started by grating the two zucchinis…

Zucchini

The I grated some cheddar cheese and threw that in…

Cheddar

The original recipe calls for bread crumbs. I didn’t have any so I thought to use Ritz instead… but I didn’t have any of those, either. But I had Lightly Salted Saltines!

Saltines

I tossed everything into a bowl ans mixed it up…

Mix It

I also added a bit of granulated garlic and 3 eggs. Then scooped it into a muffin tin…

Dish it

And baked it at 350 degrees for 15-20ish minutes, until they looked set and were browned around the edges.

Bake it

YUM.

Eat it

As usual, I didn’t measure anything. I found them to be tasty although a little bland. I’ll probably make them again, but will play around with seasonings and add-ins. I think adding in some sausage would be great… or just serve them with ketchup! I think it would be fun to make them in mini muffin tins so they are more tot-like!

I had some for lunch the next day, too… I think they tasted even better. Could be that I was REALLY hungry.

3 responses to “pinterest-inspired zucchini tots

  1. I made these, but fried them up like zucchini pancakes instead. I used a few day old bread in the processor for bread crumbs, a ton of fresh herbs, a little bit of grated carrots, minced garlic and I topped them with some plain yogurt with fresh dill. Go forth and play around ;)

    • Mmm good idea, Laura!! I think some fresh herbs would help a ton, and carrots, too! I think I’ll be making more of these this summer with your suggestions… and who knows what else I’ll come up with ;)

Comments are closed.