Fort Worden State Park

FortWorden-10

The Boy and I took Taylor up to Port Townsend a few weeks ago to spend some time at Fort Worden. Taylor’s favorite part was playing on the beach, but ours was exploring the old batteries.

FortWorden-11

According to the Washington State Parks website, “Fort Worden, along with the heavy batteries of Fort Flagler and Fort Casey, once guarded nautical entrance to Puget Sound. These posts, established in the late 1890s, became the first line of a fortification system designed to prevent a hostile fleet from reaching such targets as the Bremerton Naval Yard and the cities of Seattle, Tacoma and Everett. Construction began in 1897 and continued in one form or another until the fort was closed in 1953. The property was purchased as a state park in 1955. Fort Worden is named after Rear Admiral John L. Worden.

FortWorden-12

FortWorden-13

We only explored two of the batteries: Battery Kinzie and Battery Vicars. Looking at this map of the park… there is SO MUCH more to explore!! There’s another TEN batteries!

FortWorden-14

FortWorden-16

FortWorden-17

There are obviously no lights in the batteries, so some of the areas were pretty creepy. I did remember to bring a flashlight, but I left most of the scary explorations up to The Boy.

FortWorden-18

FortWorden-19

One of the rooms has fire damage–my guess is that is was well after the fort was actually used, but I don’t know for sure. I liked the look of it, though!

FortWorden-21

I can’t wait to get back and check out those other batteries!

6 responses to “Fort Worden State Park

    • Oh yes, at least! I think we might be going back soon… I counted at least 10 other batteries to explore! It makes me quite excited!

Comments are closed.