Fort Flagler State Park

Forts are such great places to explore! After getting a taste for them at Fort Worden I was geared up to check out another–this time Fort Flagler on Marrowstone Island. We started with a picnic lunch (tuna and spinach wraps, brownies, watermelon, and Sun chips) and explored the beach and dunes.

FortFlagler-1

There was an information board about some of the defenses used in the bay during World War II with some examples in a little fenced off area. I found it pretty interesting.

FortFlagler-2

FortFlagler-4

FortFlagler-7

FortFlagler-12

Just behind the defense “exhibit” the dunes were covered in lupins, grasses, and other little flowers. I loved it!

FortFlagler-11

FortFlagler-13

FortFlagler-15

The pilings that were used to hold up the Anti-Torpedo Nets and other defenses are still out there–some remnants of the defenses are still on them.

FortFlagler-16

FortFlagler-17

I am always looking for bits of sea glass… I can’t help it. But I love when I find other sweet little treasures like interesting tiny shells and rocks with patterns that catch my eye.

FortFlagler-18

The beach we were exploring was a little spit-like feature at the mouth of Kilisut Harbor between Marrowstone Island and Indian Island. The incoming tide met the waters flowing from the harbor, creating some treacherous cross currents for anyone trying to paddle through them! (We saw a handful of kayakers out there, but didn’t watch to see how they dealt with the currents.)

FortFlagler-20

FortFlagler-21

This beach-spit gave me a few moments of deja vu… When planning this little adventure I thought that I had never been to Fort Flagler. I was wrong. My dad buried us in the sand on this spit and there’s a photo of my sister and I standing on a giant tire in the playground. Makes me look forward to bringing my nephew out here someday.

FortFlagler-22

FortFlagler-24

FortFlagler-27

FortFlagler-29

FortFlagler-31

We spent some time in the batteries, too… but that will have to be another post. :)

2 responses to “Fort Flagler State Park

  1. Super photos and thanks for another tour. I think it is so cool how nature (the flowers you pictured) begin to reclaim areas no longer in use!

    • That’s too funny–I was JUST thinking the same thing the other day, about nature reclaiming areas we leave! I was wondering what some of our populated areas would look like in 5, 10, 20, etc years if we were to all just leave them one day. I think that’s part of why I love exploring these places so much.

Comments are closed.