homemade mac n cheese

I had never made mac and cheese from scratch. Surprising, I know. Then I found this on Pinterest:

I knew I had to try it out. I mostly followed the recipe provided on the original blog post by The Novice Chef, but didn’t really follow the measurements.

mac n cheese

It calls for 12oz of pasta, but I bought a 16oz bag–so I used the whole thing. And I upped the amounts of the other ingredients, too (medium cheddar, colby jack, sour cream, cream cheese, butter, fresh garlic, pepper). And I also tossed in some turkey sausage.

mac n cheese

It turned out quite tasty! Once again, I’ll do things a bit different next time but I wanted to (mostly) follow the recipe for my first time attempting non-boxed mac and cheese. (My dear friend Laura gave me some ideas I want to try out!)

I completed the meal with roasted veggies (broccoli and carrots with olive oil and herbs de provence) and delicious watermelon.

summer yum

Mmm I could totally go for some watermelon right now. So good!!

Psst… you can still enter to win a camera, camera bag, and more! Go here to help me out and enter yourself! The contest closes July 2.

