Christmas exploded in my house

“Exploded ” may be a little exaggeration, but I’m sticking with it.

It started with the tree… no new purchased ornaments this year (yet), but I’m slowly adding some homemade cinnamon ornaments as I finish them.

XmasDecor-14

Some sweet little scalloped “JOY” circles, bells, and snowflakes decorated with craft acrylic paint, fabric puffy paint, glitter, and some bling jewels here and there.

XmasDecor-15

I still don’t have a tree topper, the “skirt” is a fleece blanket with snowflakes on it, a level of lights are all out because of a broken bulb, and one of the branches is secured with duct tape. But I still love it.

My little house doesn’t have a mantel and putting the stockings on the propane stove makes me nervous even though I rarely ever use it… so I picked up a couple of stocking hangers from Target (2 for $10) and put them on the window sill by the tree. Not too shabby! (The stockings are new, too, from World Market for less than $10 each with a coupon.)

XmasDecor-16

My other new Target find that I LOVE is my new tablecloth! It’s basic red with different colored stitches around the edges. It’s not crazy or fancy, but it was on sale and I knew it had to come home with me.

XmasDecor-1

My DIY wreaths are up in their usual spots on the window frame mirrors…

XmasDecor-3

And my hutch is decked out in floral beads from the craft store…

XmasDecor-6

XmasDecor-8

XmasDecor-11

Even my thrifted owl is dressed up!

XmasDecor-12

I got these mini stockings before I found the ones from World Market… I guess I can say they are for the critters? Louie and Alex can share and Taylor gets his own! I do like them on my antique tea cart…

XmasDecor-4

I have a little Christmas craft in the works, too, but it isn’t quite finished. If you follow me on Instagram (missarahlou) you may have seen a couple of in-progress glimpses… but for now, here’s the “before”:

XmasDecor-18

A $1 bird house from JoAnn Fabrics. I can’t wait to show you the final product! (Hopefully before Christmas…)

And a progress Instagram pic:

painted Tater Tot!!

I had hoped to get it finished before Kim’s Dare to DIY Deck the Halls link party yesterday… but that didn’t happen.

I’ve linked up with the NewlyWoodwards Dare to DIY: Deck the Halls!

3 responses to “Christmas exploded in my house

Comments are closed.