healthier cookies for one

I try to limit my junk food/treats by only eating what I am willing to make. It doesn’t always work (have you tried the Ghiradelli peppermint bark squares? I still have some from Christmas and they are so good!) but it keeps me from buying too many things I don’t really need at the grocery store.

Then I came across some quick dessert ideas via Pinterest… I tried a mug cake (got my chocolate fix, but probably won’t do it again) and then found a recipe for the “perfect single serving size chocolate chip cookies” at No. 2 Pencil. And they were GOOD. I followed the recipe the first time I made them and made two LARGE cookies. They were a tad sweet for me but still great with a cup of cold milk.

They were good enough that I had to make them again… but with a bunch of twists! And they turned out even BETTER! (If you like soft cookies that aren’t quite as sweet.)

Here is my slightly healthier version of the chocolate chip cookies with whole wheat flour, almond meal/flour and less sugar. (This version is approved by the Picky-Eater Boyfriend):

2T butter, softened in the microwave
2T brown sugar
1/2t honey
1/4t vanilla
1 egg yolk
pinch of salt
4T whole wheat flour
4T almond meal/flour
1/2t baking soda
2-3T mini chocolate chips

Mix the softened butter, brown sugar, and honey by hand in a small bowl.

Add Sugars

Mix Well

Mix in the vanilla and the egg yolk.

Add Egg Yolks and Vanilla

Then add in the salt, baking soda, flour, and almond meal.

Add Dry

Stir in chocolate chips.

Mix It Up

Scoop onto parchment lined baking sheet.

Scoop

Bake at 350*F for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

Bake

Makes 2 large cookies or 6 medium cookies.

OR if you’re like me and like busy cookies…

Reduce the flour and almond meal to 3T each and add:
2T quick oats
1-2T medium shredded coconut
1-2T raisins

I haven’t tried making them completely flour-free or egg-less yet, but I want to give it a try for my gluten-free and vegan friends. Let me know how they turn out if you try your own variation!

Enjoy

Note: I was making a double batch of my busy cookie version in the pictures!

2 responses to “healthier cookies for one

    • Yay!! I am so glad you all enjoyed them! I had SUCH a great time with you, your family, and friends!

Comments are closed.