Make-It-Up Quiche

After the Broker’s Open at my house last week I got home, saw my nice clean kitchen… and was inspired to COOK. And BAKE. Not sure why exactly, but quiche sounded really good. Which is odd, because I don’t remember the last time I made quiche, much less had it at all.

I did a quick search online and found a recipe for a mushroom and spinach quiche in an oat crust. I looked at it more for inspiration than actual directions, as usual. I made the oat crust almost exactly–but I didn’t have (or couldn’t find) oat bran, so I used wheat germ instead (kinda the same thing, right?), used a little more butter (ok so I didn’t measure it at all), and probably a tablespoon more of water. And a pinch of sea salt.

More or less: Mix together 1 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of wheat germ, pinch of sea salt. Cut in about 3 tablespoons of butter with a pastry knife, fork, your hands or whatever else works for you. Add in the water (4T) and mix around. At this point I found it easier to use my hands to get the butter and water totally incorporated and mushed it all into a ball. Instead of rolling it out, I just pressed it into the bottom of my oiled pie plate–mostly just on the bottom, but a little up the sides, too. Then stick it in the over at 375* for 7-8 minutes.

For the filling, I sauteed about half a medium onion with garlic, turmeric (because it’s oh-so-good for you), a pinch of applewood smoked salt, and a pinch of sea salt in olive oil until the onions were starting to get transparent. Then I added in two cubes of my frozen pureed broccoli and around 1 cup of frozen spinach (the kind that is loose in a bag, not the brick… but I doubt it matters). In a bowl I mixed up 3 whole eggs plus two egg whites and some regular 2% milk. Then I squeezed out some of the excess liquid from my sauteed veggies before dumping it in the egg mixture and immediately mixed the whole thing up. I also added some Italian seasoning and fresh basil (yum!).

Finally, I got to pour the filling in the crust (that had been cooling while I finished up the filling). I sprinkled in some cheese (shredded Italian blend), scattered some chunks of provolone (because I had it) and made a pretty design out of a variety of small tomatoes (because I had them and I love them). Baked it at 375* for about 40 minutes (until a toothpick comes out clean)…

Quiche for dinner--with an oat crust! I could eat the whole thing. So good!!

And then convinced myself to NOT eat the whole thing in one sitting.

I had it with a little salad of more tomatoes (seriously, they’re like candy) and fresh basil.

And then I had another slice.

