Stitch Fix: My First Box

Have you heard of Stitch Fix? It’s another subscription-type box, but with clothes that have been picked out for you by a stylist based on a detailed profile that you fill out.

It’s $20 up front for the styling fee. You get your box of five clothing items, try them on, then send back the ones you don’t want. You pay for the ones you keep and your $20 styling fee goes towards your purchase. If you keep everything you get 25% off.

The clothing items are a little more than what I usually pay for clothes at $75 on average, but I’m also cheap and don’t invest in quality clothing. Which also means much of my clothes wears out faster than I like. (T-shirts for under $10 each? Yes, please!) The nice thing is that you can specify what you’d like to pay in your Stitch Fix profile for each type of clothing/accessory–I chose “the cheaper the better.”

I also love that I can link to my Pinterest style board (an excuse to pin more clothes, etc!), tell them what materials or colors I like to avoid (no fur or orange!), what I like to flaunt (or cover up), and they’ll take my feedback about the pieces they send me into consideration for future styling! I also like that it isn’t an automatic monthly delivery–you can choose when to order another box or sign up for the monthly deliveries.

This is what I got for my first Stitch Fix box:

Untitled

Rocco Faux Wrap Tank Dress ($78)… I loved this one. Super comfy and well made. The tie that held the bundle of clothes together is actually the belt for the dress.

Untitled

This is the card that went with the dress that showed a couple ways to can be styled!

Untitled

Hilary Crochet Striped Tank ($68)… I liked the style card for the tank, and it fit well, I just didn’t find it to be very flattering on me. (I should also note that I don’t have a full-length mirror so my only option to see how things look is standing on my toilet or standing far away from my window-mirrors in the kitchen. It’s not the most accurate.)

Untitled

Mission 3/4 Sleeve V-Neck Blouse ($68)… I like almost everything about this top–but the arms were a little too snug. I don’t have petite arms and I like to be able to move, so that was a big mark against it.

Untitled
Untitled

Roma Cowl Neck Jersey Knit Top ($48)… Super comfy shirt, but not flattering. At all. The cowl was just too much.

Untitled

Alan Cowl Neck Asymmetrical Jacket ($48)… I kept going back and forth on this jacket–and in the midst of my indecision I forgot to take a photo of it! It’s just like this one from ModCloth (maybe even the same thing? not sure how that all works..) Anyway, I REALLY liked it and was this close to keeping it… but again, the fit was slightly off. It fit everywhere great except for across the chest… of course. It smooshed everything in a not-so-great way.

In the end I decided to keep the dress and sent everything else back… and I’ve already ordered my next styling for next month! I tried to give detailed feedback about each piece (you sign into your account and can rate the items for fit, style, etc and leave comments too) so fingers crossed my next one will be even better! In the meantime I’ll be on Pinterest even more browsing Women’s Fashion pins!

Want to give Stitch Fix a try? Click here to sign up for your first box using my referral code!

6 responses to “Stitch Fix: My First Box

  1. Sarah, you're killing me! i just signed up for the Julep maven because you posted it (i love it BTW) and now i desperately want to try this out! my wallet can't handle it.

  2. I think it's worth leaving good feedback and a detailed profile/request comments to really give them a good idea of what you like/what you're looking for. The biggest issue I've found so far is the fit of the pieces. I have my fingers crossed for a good fix in October!!

Comments are closed.