Healthy Banana Oatmeal Muffins

My favorite thing to make with overripe bananas is banana muffins! I use a different recipe almost every time… but this most recent version may be my new go-to recipe.

Guaranteed way to get my house smelling yummy! Banana oatmeal muffins! They're even healthy-ish! (made with whole wheat flour, coconut oil, real maple syrup... and other basic ingredients)


Healthy Banana Oatmeal Muffins
In a large bowl, combine:
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups quick oats
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon

In a separate bowl, combine:
2 cups of mashed bananas (about 6 bananas)
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1 1/3 cup maple syrup (the real stuff)
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until just combined. Spoon batter into oiled or lined muffin tins and bake at 350*F for 20-25 minutes, until the muffins are golden and a toothpick comes out clean from the center of a muffin. Makes 24 muffins.

I may play around with the amount of syrup (they were sweet, not too sweet, but I’d be fine with even less) and may try substituting some of the whole wheat flour with almond meal and a couple of the eggs with flax eggs. You could also add some fun stir-ins like mini chocolate chips or chopped nuts, but I went simple this time… a streusel topping would also be yummy!

